LSE Home



The Singapore LSE Trust was launched in 2004 to help Singaporeans who demonstrate "all -round excellence" but have some financial needs to pursue their dream of studying at the LSE. The Trust has the distinction of being the first charitable trust of its kind established in Singapore by an overseas University.

Alumni give so that Singaporeans who have gained admission to the LSE can have that added means to study at a world-renowned academic institution that is the LSE. Gifts to the Trust will provide direct undergraduate scholarships to Singaporean students.

The Trust believes education is the greatest social leveller, and by enabling others to walk the same passageways we used to and have benefitted from is perhaps one of the most meaningful gifts from all alumni.

The Study Award

The applicant of the Study Award has to first gain admission to the LSE, and must be a Singapore citizen.

The applicant goes through two rounds of rigorous assessment:

1. By the LSE’s Financial Support Office to ensure that the prospective recipient has a genuine financial need coupled with the applicant’s ability to have sufficient other sources of funds (e.g. family savings, borrowings, part-time work arrangements etc) and

2. By the Trustees of The Singapore LSE Trust to ensure that the prospective recipient is “someone special with a social conscience” – possessing a track record of doing good and contributing to others / causes despite your own challenges, someone with the desire for the betterment of society or the pursuit of a meaningful cause, who will pay it forward if given this opportunity

Since 31 March 2012, the Trustees have agreed to focus on undergraduates only as we believe that the needs are greater at this level and that helping here can make a bigger difference to the recipients. Successful applicants can expect to receive a study award covering tuition fees which are around £18,000 per annum or £54,000 in total for a three year undergraduate course.

Applying for the Study Award

To apply for the Study Award, a candidate must first have an offer from the LSE in hand. For details on how to go about applying for the Undergraduate Award, please CLICK HERE.

Short-listed candidates will then be vetted by the Financial Support Office at the LSE and interviewed by the Trustees of The Singapore LSE Trust.

The deadline for the receipt of applications is: now closed. It will reopen end in early Q2 of 2021. Mr. Joseph Tan is the recipient for 2019/20.

Tax-Deductible Donation

As an Institution of Public Character, all donations to the Singapore LSE Trust enjoy a double-tax deduction i.e. for every $1,000 donated, $2,000 will be deducted from the taxpayers’ chargeable income.

It was first announced in Budget 2009 and 2010 that all donations that qualify for double tax deductions and made in calendar year 2009 and 2010 (i.e. 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2010) would temporarily qualify for 2.5 times tax deduction. To encourage greater charitable giving in Singapore as the economy recovered, the Minister for Finance announced in Budget 2018 that tax deduction of 2.5 times will be extended for another three years to donations made from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021.


The Trustees of the Singapore LSE Trust include the following distinguished alumni:

1. Ms. Jane Ittogi (Emeritus Chairperson), Board Member of LaSalle College of the Arts, Chair of Tasek Jurong Limited & Co-Chair of Singapore Biennale 2019.
2. Mr. Collin Liu ACA (Chairman), Chief Operating Officer at Rajah & Tann Asia.
3. Ms. Michelle Liem, Director of Nuri Holdings.
4. Mr. Desmond Lim, Chairman of Les Amis Group.
5. Mr. Garich Lim Shington (Secretary and Treasurer), Head of Partners at Fortrec Chemicals & Petroleum Pte. Ltd.
6. Mr. Linus Lim, Chief Executive Officer of Phillip Tokai Tokyo Investment Management.
7. Mr. Low Check Kian, Founder and Chairman of Cluny Park Capital.
8. Ms. Miao Fong Tien (ex officio), President, LSE Alumni Association of Singapore.
9. Mr. Eugene Ooi, Consultant at Linklaters Singapore Pte. Ltd.
10. Mr. Tan Suee Chieh, President, Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (United Kingdom).
11. Ms. Patricia Yeo, Director of Hong Leong Investment Holdings Pte. Ltd.
12. Dr. Stefan Altofer Ong (Treasurer), Executive Director at UBS AG.

We are honoured to have as our former Trustee, Minister for Health Mr. Ong Ye Kung before he rejoined politics. We are very proud too of the way the Trust and it’s philosophy had left a mark on him:

He also told of how the London School of Economics Trust, which he sits on, recently decided that it would not just look at a student’s results when awarding scholarships. Instead it would give the scholarship to a student who had managed to secure a place but was not from a privileged background. In other words, there was “merit” in being able to overcome the odds to enroll in a prestigious university.” - interview with Bertha Henson, The Middle Ground, 2015.


Since 31 March 2020, more than $2.5million has been raised and this has enabled the establishment of twenty-one scholarships at the LSE. In adhering to the highest standards of governance, all donations to the Trust are made by cheque and the Trustees receive neither a fee nor an allowance from the Trust to keep expenses related to the work of the Trust to an absolute minimal. With the generosity and support of alumni who have contributed both in cash and in kind, the Trust has to date no expenses other than the direct funding of scholarships. Notwithstanding, in keeping with the best practices of handling and recording, all charitable donations and accounts are audited and filed annually by PricewaterhouseCoopers, Singapore.

Endowed Scholarship Fund Brochure

Click HERE to download brochure

Making a Donation

There are two ways in which alumni can make a donation:

1. One-Time Gift
2. Recurring Pledge

We encourage alumnus to sign-up for the recurring pledge to allow us to continually build and sustain our income that would allow the Trust to fund deserving undergraduate aspirants on an annual basis.

To make a contribution, please fill out either; a One-Time Donation Form or Interbank GIRO Form

Queries & Information

For further queries, please contact Garich Lim Shington at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and Stefan Altorfer-Ong at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)