LSE Home


imageBrief History

There are 1889 active Singaporean alumni who have studied at the LSE to date. In September 1973, the LSE Alumni Association of Singapore (LSEAAS) was formally registered as a society with the Registry of Societies (0169/1973) in Singapore. Past luminaries closely associated with the LSE, and indeed the LSEAAS from the 1970s through to the 1990s include former Deputy Prime Minister Dr. Goh Keng Swee, Professor You Poh Seng and Professor Saw Swee Hock.

The LSEAAS has seen its ups and downs over the years. In 2002, the LSEAAS in Singapore experienced a revival in leadership which has carried on till the present day.

Our Mission

The LSEAAS continues a proud tradition of facilitating and organising events that are educational and entertaining – a means to maintain our links with the School and alumni here in Singapore.

The LSEAAS is also the platform from which the Singapore LSE Trust Scholarship for undergraduates and postgraduates was launched as an independent initiative. On 22 October 2004, the Singapore LSE Trust was launched with a dinner at the elegant Asian Civilisations Museum with our alumni, Minister for Finance Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam. 180 alumni and their family and friends attended this launch event.

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is one of the foremost social science universities in the world.

It is a specialist university with an international intake and a global reach. Its research and teaching spans the full breadth of the social sciences, from economics, politics and law to sociology, anthropology, accounting and finance and, as the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise found, it has the highest percentage of world-leading research of any university in the UK.

Founded in 1895 by Beatrice and Sidney Webb, LSE has an outstanding reputation for academic excellence. Fourteen Nobel Prize winners in economics, literature and peace have been either LSE staff or alumni: George Bernard Shaw (1925), Ralph Bunche (1950), Bertrand Russell (1950), Philip Noel-Baker (1959), Sir John Hicks (1972), Friedrich von Hayek (1974), James Meade (1977), Arthur Lewis (1979), Merton Miller (1990), Ronald Coase (1991), Amartya Sen (1998), Robert Mundell (1999), George Akerlof (2001) and Leonid Hurwicz (jointly) (2007).

The School has just under 90,000 registered alumni. As of February 2009, around 32 past or present heads of state have studied or taught at LSE, and 28 members of the British House of Commons and 42 members of the House of Lords have either studied or taught at LSE.

Read more about LSE here


LSEAAS Constitution 2011
View LSEAAS Constitution here

Go to The LSEAAS Committee